You rush a miracle man, you get rotten miracles.

October 6, 2008 at 5:45 pm (Movies)

…Inconceivable! I am ashamed to say that even though I am such a movie fanatic and an admirer of all things fantasy. I had not seen the Princess Bride until recently. I must thank my friend Nilla for pushing me to see this work of art and one day repay her for it. I love one liners, I love witty dialogues and I love it when they put a little humour and sarcasm in a movie, so it was natural that I would also love the Princess Bride. It is an old fantasy adventure film from 1987 and part of it’s charm are the obvious clichés. This movie is a pinnacle to what makes old movies so great. They did not have the funds or the technology for classy effects, so all they could rely on was the script itself. And what they do, they do great.

The plot is simple, a guy comes back after five years to rescue his woman from an evil prince. On his quest he meets a noble Spaniard that seeks revenge for his fathers death and a giant that just tags along because he can. The dialogue between the characters will surely make you smile and laugh and if you still have not seen it, make sure you do right after you finish reading this post.

Now then, anybody want a peanut?

5 Comments

  1. Anna said,

    Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father prepare to die.

    LOVE this movie! And if RUS’s (Rodents of Unusual Size) don’t prove your point about old movies relying on the script for success…well, nothing will.

    long live the princess bride!

  2. Nilla said,

    the di-a-logue! it’s freakin brilliant.. =P
    yes, 1987 was a good year…. hum di dum..

    seriously, Miracle Max.. I laughed so hard my spleen burst O__O Crystal is a genius!^^

  3. Farzan Zand said,

    Haha, i loved that scene! Infact, i saw it twice just because I could. “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father prepare to die. ” Epic, forever epic, and rodents of unusual size sure was a nice touch. The whole forrest scene was well done infact!

    Crystals wife was also a sweet little pumpkin “I’m not a witch, i’m your wife!”
    It’s a shame that he has retired, I think he has atleast since I haven’t seen him in quite some time.

    If you follow this link you will see all the actors in the movie then, and now. Twenty years later. It is actually quite fascinating to see them age, especially Westley. He sure looks different.

    Follow me!

    By the way, Billy Crystal should keep his beard. It suits him better!

  4. Sorran said,

    Jag kan inte annat än skratta:) Sköna inlägg

  5. Farzan Zand said,

    I’m always glad to put a smile on people’s faces. 😉 Thank you

Leave a Reply

